Mobile Phones: Good/ Evil 

How old were you when you got your first phone? 

I was 9 years old and I got a second hand blockia with no SIM card, I just wanted to play snake #90sKids. 9 year olds these day are getting iPhones, iPods and iPads. It’s getting out of control. It makes me feel sick. Where is their childhood? 

Did you see that? No sorry I was on my phone! 

Sound familiar? 

Our generation need to be good role models to the next generation creeping up behind us. This means showing them your phone doesn’t need to be superglued onto your hand!!! I am no saint myself believe me. My mother can tell you I am nowhere without my phone, but I do try to take a break while I am in conversation with her and anyone else, there is nothing worse than talking to someone’s forehead. 

Phones are becoming a fashion accessory and the pressure on parents is getting unreal. It is nearly life or death for children to have the next best thing. 

What happend to dolls and bicycles?   

Where is their adventurous instincts? Oh, I know on Crossy Roads and Temple Run!!! 

I remember in secondary school, everyone had one eye under the table texting in the middle of class and consequently, getting your phone taking off you. Oh the fear was unnatural. Imagine, being without your phone for 24 hours?!?!?!? It’s funny now but in the moment it was the worse thing that could ever happen to you. It was the equivalent of a lost loved one. That sounds over dramatic but it’s true, you might as well have lost an arm or a leg. 

Ironically, if you think about it, social media makes us so anti-social. What do you while your with your friends? What do you do at family events? What do you do at the dinner table? Yeah I thought so! 

Phones and the Internet have taken over our lives, they have taken over our society! We need to rebel!!! (Yeah I know, dramatic) 

I challenge everyone reading this, to forget about your phone, forget about social media, forget about the Internet. For 24 hours and let’s see how much we can achieve!! 

Hope you liked this post and let me know in the comments how you get on with your 24 hour challenge. 

Carry On Blogging! 

Gracie x


Leave a Reply

